2016 GUI recommendations

APL-related discussions - a stream of APL consciousness.
Not sure where to start a discussion ? Here's the place to be
Forum rules
This forum is for discussing APL-related issues. If you think that the subject is off-topic, then the Chat forum is probably a better place for your thoughts !

2016 GUI recommendations

Postby Delgear on Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:06 pm

Dyalogers,

My name is David Dooner. I’m hoping to introduce myself to Dyalog APL and learn some of its many features. My background is mechanical engineering. I’ve been with APL2 for over 25 years. I have a moderate command of APL2 and its features.
I recently installed the 64 bit OS non-commercial Unicode version 15.0 of Dyalog to initiate my introduction to Dyalog. I’m struggling with basics and simple differences between the two products. The session is getting suspended a lot as I do not know what I’m doing. I bought “Mastering Dyalog APL” and potentially will buy a Dyalog keyboard. If I’m able to master a working level of Dyalog APL, I’ll proceed with the commercial license.

Dyalog has many features I’m curious about (power, rank, variant, and key operators, I-beam, and system functions). My primary interest involves GUI. I have a moderately extensive GUI, entirely in APL2 (if interested, visit www.delgear.com to download, install, test, complain, and make questions). For me, Dyalog and APL2 GUIs are (very) different. Separate from a re-write of GUI from APL2 to Dyalog, I’m interested in “ways to go” if starting anew with a modern Dyalog GUI. I’ll need Opengl. I’m not a programmer (don’t know OOP, .net, and …) and I do not have full command of Opengl.