migrating to miserver/apl16

MiServer is Dyalog's APL-based web development framework

Re: migrating to miserver/apl16

Postby woody on Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:22 pm

Great info, Michael !

I'm playing with MS3 now... as you read this...

Once I have MS3 all figured out ... I'll help our APLcloud.com MS2 users to make the JUMP to MiServer 3.0 .... and DyalogAPL v16.

Thanks again....

//W
Woodley Butler
Automatonics, Inc.
"Find your head in the APL Cloud"
http://www.APLcloud.com
User avatar
woody
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:54 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Re: migrating to miserver/apl16

Postby woody on Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:09 pm

Question about MS3 Config.

I see an option to configure MiServer 3 to run with MULTIPLE PORT#s for "multiple instances of MiServer".

Cool !

How do we spin-up "multiple instances" of MS3 ?

Thanks!

MS3-IP-Config.PNG
MS3-IP-Config.PNG (11.35 KiB) Viewed 153 times
Woodley Butler
Automatonics, Inc.
"Find your head in the APL Cloud"
http://www.APLcloud.com
User avatar
woody
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 12:54 am
Location: Atlanta, Georgia USA

Re: migrating to miserver/apl16

Postby MBaas on Thu Jul 27, 2017 8:32 pm

This is a small misinterpretation: if MiServer starts up and finds that the default-port is in use, it will go through the numbers configured in <Ports> to find a free one.
User avatar
MBaas
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:17 am
Location: Gründau / Germany

Re: migrating to miserver/apl16

Postby Brian|Dyalog on Thu Jul 27, 2017 9:46 pm

Hi Woody,

The <ports> parameter was added to allow running several instances of a MiSite, each running in its own APL process, without having to specify a specific port number for each instance. MiServer will attempt to listen on the preferred port as specified in the <port> parameter, and failing that will iterate through the range of ports until it either connects or checks all of the ports in the range and issues an error message.

At present it's not possible to run multiple MiServer instances in a single APL process - though that may change in light of some of the features introduced with Conga 3.0.

To do to run multiple instances, just start another copy of Dyalog APL and run MiServer in it.

I hope this helps!
/Brian
User avatar
Brian|Dyalog
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:02 pm
Location: West Henrietta, NY

Previous

Return to MiServer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest